Yes! If the person that you are bonding out does not make every required court appearance, can not be located in a timely manner, or you do not pay the bond amount in full to the Bondsman or clerk of court, your home can be taken. This does not mean that if someone accidently missed a court date or had a flat tire on their way to court that you will lose your home. As long as the person on bond does not flee the jurisdiction of the court or hide from prosecution you shouldn't have to pay the entire bond amount or forfeit your collateral. If the person does flee and it costs the agent money to apprehend the person, you would then only be responsible for the costs that were incurred instead of the full amount of the bond. Basically we look at it like this: you know the person you are trying to get out of jail, we do not. If your willing to place something of value on the line for them, we are willing to pledge the assets of our insurance company in lieu of you having to come up with the cash. This is why the state allows us to charge an insurance premium for the service. This is also why the premium is non-refundable. It is what the agent, the agency, the general agency, and the insurance company split for providing you with this service.
Florida statute dictates what fees you will be charged when bonding an individual out of jail. These fees are non-negotiable and only refundable in very specific circumstances. Therefore you should be leery of doing business with an agency that is willing to either charge more or less Premium than what statute calls for as they are breaking the law. When these individuals are willing to break the law they are showing the moral integrity not only of themselves but for the agency they work for. These individuals are not above breaking other laws which have in the past victimized the very clients they were paid to help in the first place. Florida Statute sets the bail bond premiums in Florida at:
* A $100.00 flat fee for any bond $1000.00 dollars or below
*Any bond Above $1000,00 is 10% of the bond amount.
* A flat $100 transfer fee may be charged when posting a bond for an out of county client. This is in no way to be confused with a travel fee to drive to another county to post a bond. Travel fees are not legal to charge. The transfer fee is instituted when a bondsman from another county or state posts a bond for another bondsman through the insurance company's network of licensed bail agents. This allows us to post bonds for our clients throughout the nation. When a bond is posted in another state other than Florida, the transfer fee may be what that state legally allows their bail bond agents to charge. Florida statutes can only regulate Florida fees.